Mbappé and Messi in the running for the FIFA “The Best” Trophy: it’s your turn to vote!

After facing each other in the World Cup final, Argentinian Lionel Messi and Frenchman Kylian Mbappé will compete for the Fifa The Best Trophy for best player of the year 2022, the shortlist for which was unveiled on Thursday 12 January.

Neymar, the third member of Paris Saint-Germain’s “MNM” also appears in the nominations as Ballon d’Or winner Karim Benzema, Norwegian prodigy Erling Haaland or Croatian Luka Modric. The result will be revealed on February 27.

Among the women there are in particular the Spanish Ballon d’Or voice actress Alexia Putellas, the Englishman Beath Mead or the Australian Sam Kerr.

Here are the candidates for #The best FIFA player! ?

Vote for your FIFA+ male and female player! ?️

— FIFA World Cup (@FIFAWorldCup) January 12, 2023

For the best manager trophy, World Cup finalists Didier Deschamps (France) and Lionel Scaloni (Argentina) will face Pep Guardiola (Manchester City), Champions League winner with Real Madrid, Carlo Ancelotti and Morocco manager Walid Regragui, fourth in the World Cup and winner of the African Champions League with Wydad Casablanca.

Read also:
“Sewer rat”, “dwarf on hormones”: ex Barça managers insulted Messi on a WhatsApp group

The International Federation also awards the best coach, best goalkeeper and best goalkeeper, and also provides a fan trophy and the Puskas award for goal of the year, for which Kylian Mbappé, for his volley in the world final , or the heel of the English Alessia Russo in the semifinals of the Euro.

Football fans can vote online until 3 February at 11.59pm Paris time. In early February 2023, FIFA will announce the three finalists in each category.

Read also:
Influencer gets ‘Messi’ tattoo on forehead after Argentina win at World Cup, then regrets…

List of candidates in alphabetical order

  • Players: Aitana Bonmatí (Spain – FC Barcelona) Debinha (Brazil – North Carolina Courage) Jessie Fleming (Canada – Chelsea) Ada Hegerberg (Norway – Olympique Lyonnais) Sam Kerr (Australia – Chelsea) Beth Mead (England – Arsenal) Vivianne Miedema (Country- Bas – Arsenal) Alex Morgan (USA – Orlando Pride and San Diego Wave) Lena Oberdorf (Germany – Wolfsburg) Alexandra Popp (Germany – Wolfsburg) Alexia Putellas (Spain – FC Barcelona) Wendie Renard (France – Olympique Lyonnais) Keira Walsh (England ) – Manchester City and FC Barcelona) Leah Williamson (England – Arsenal).
  • Players: Julián Álvarez (Argentina – River Plate and Manchester City) Jude Bellingham (England – Borussia Dortmund) Karim Benzema (France – Real Madrid) Kevin De Bruyne (Belgium – Manchester City) Erling Haaland (Norway – Borussia Dortmund and Manchester City) Achraf Hakimi ( Morocco – Paris Saint-Germain) Robert Lewandowski (Poland – FC Bayern Munich and FC Barcelona) Sadio Mané (Senegal – Liverpool and Bayern Munich) Kylian Mbappé (France – Paris Saint-Germain) Lionel Messi (Argentina – Paris Saint-Germain) Luka Modric (Croatia – Real Madrid) Neymar (Brazil – Paris Saint-Germain) Mohamed Salah (Egypt – Liverpool) Vinícius Junior (Brazil – Real Madrid).
  • Coaches: Sonia Bompastor (France – Olympique Lyonnais) Emma Hayes (England – Chelsea) Bev Priestman (England – Canada) Pia Sundhage (Sweden – Brazil) Martina Voss-Tecklenburg (Germany – Germany) Sarina Wiegman (Netherlands – England and Holland).
  • Coaches: Carlo Ancelotti (Italy – Real Madrid) Didier Deschamps (France – France) Pep Guardiola (Spain – Manchester City) Walid Regragui (Morocco – Wydad Casablanca and Morocco) Lionel Scaloni (Argentina – Argentina).
  • Babysitter: Ann-Katrin Berger (Germany – Chelsea) Mary Earps (England – Manchester United) Christiane Endler (Chile – Olympique Lyonnais) Merle Frohms (Germany – Eintracht Frankfurt and Wolfsburg) Alyssa Naeher (USA – Chicago Red Stars) Sandra Paños García- Villamil ( Spain – Barcelona).
  • Guardians: Alisson Becker (Brazil – Liverpool) Yassine Bounou (Morocco – Sevilla FC) Thibaut Courtois (Belgium – Real Madrid) Ederson (Brazil – Manchester City) Emiliano Martínez (Argentina – Aston Villa).
  • Puskás Award for best goal: Mario Balotelli (Italy): Adana Demirspor – Göztepe Izmir (May 22, 2022) Amandine Henry (France): FC Barcelona – Olympique Lyonnais (May 21, 2022) Théo Hernández (France): AC Milan – Atalanta Bergamo (May 15, 2022) ) Alou Kuol (Australia): Iraq – Australia U23 (June 4, 2022) Kylian Mbappé (France): Argentina – France (December 18, 2022) Francisco González Metilli (Argentina): Central Córdoba – Rosario Central (August 1, 2022) Marcin Oleksy (Poland) : Warta Poznan – Stal Rzeszów (November 6, 2022) Salma Paralluelo (Spain): FC Barcelona – Villarreal (April 2, 2022) Dimitri Payet (France): Olympique de Marseille – PAOK Thessaloniki (April 7, 2022) ) Richarlison (Brazil): Brazil – Serbia (November 24, 2022) Alessia Russo (England): England – Sweden (July 26, 2022).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *